The Misplaced Man

I feel trepidatious today
as I patiently wait
to lose what little
I have gained

The bus approaches
I must stand straight
long black coat
immaculate hair

The mistake I think
I made
was to want too
much
or not to want at all

“Helsinki, please.”
I hand the man a ten
he gives me back a five
and change.  Things are expensive
these days.

Oh, the immaculate bliss
of living off a Thorazine
drip
Drooling paradise
with God in white
coats

Did that woman stare
as I sat
or did I just imagine
that
Nod, look severe, sit
straight, black coat
immaculate hair

But where did I slip up
and get the job I hate
two cats
wife and kids
and garden in the
country

Leave a Reply

